Celebrity Photos and News

Celebrity Photos and News

  • RSS Chodu ki Chudai

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Advertisements
  • RSS Sunny Ke Jalwe

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Indian Team for Champions Trophy 2009 and Sri Lanka Tri Series Sep 09

Posted by celebrityphotosnews on August 16, 2009

Rahul Dravid has made a re-entry into the Indian ODI squad as he was named in the 15 -men squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 and Sri Lanka tri-series. Rahul will be replacing Rohit Sharma in the team. Tendulkar and Raina are other names who are back into the ODI squad.

The national selection committee-headed by chief selector Krishnamachari Srikkanth met here Sunday in the presence of skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and decided to pick one squad for both the tournaments.

The tri-series, which involves New Zealand as the third team, will be played from Sep 8-14 and will be folowed by the Champions Trophy from Sep 22 to Oct 5 in South Africa.

Five players, Rohit Sharma, Subramaniam Badrinath, Ravindra Jadeja, Murali Vijay and Pragyan Ojha, who were a part of the team that won the series in the West Indies, failed to retain their place in the side.

Dravid, whose last ODI was in October 2007, comes into the side after the susceptibility of the middle-order against short-pitched deliveries was exposed in the World Twenyy20 and the series in the West Indies.

The selectors didn’t take the risk of including Sehwag in the side as he is yet to recover from the surgery.

Sachin Tendulkar, who opted out of the West Indies series, makes a comeback while middle-order bastman Suresh Raina, who also missed the series due to a broken thumb, was also included.

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra also comes back to the side replacing Pragyan Ojha on the back of his impressive showings in the IPL and the Emerging Players Tournament in Australia. Dinesh Karthik, who was included as a last minute replacement for Sehwag in the World Twenty20, and Abhishek Nayar retained their places.

The squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Yusuf Pathan, Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, Praveen Kumar and Ashish Nehra.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

%d bloggers like this: